Week 11 Activity: Fiber Art

I was thrilled for this week’s project because I consider myself crafty. In addition, this week’s activity was a piece I could actually keep at home for decor. For this fiber art activity, we were to make a wall hanger, whether by sewing, knitting, crocheting, weaving, or any alternative process we preferred. I decided to make a wall hanger inspired by macrame I have seen on Pinterest. I have seen many macrame sold by Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, and Etsy but those macrame are way too expensive for my price range.

I settled to make my macrame wall hanger with neutral shades of color. I took a trip to Wal Mart and bought three different colors of yarn: white, beige, and dark teal (roughly about $3 each), and a wooden dowel with a circumference of 3/8″ (59¢). I cut the wooden dowel to a length of about 2 feet. I also needed a pair of scissors for this activity. Here is a picture of the materials used for this project:

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with T1 preset

I started off by cutting arm-length strands of each color. I cut about 50 strands of the teal yarn, 60 strands of the beige yarn, and 40 strands of the white yarn. Next, I started double-knotting the teal yarn towards the center of the dowel in this matter:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with F2 preset

I continued on with this process with the 50 teal strands and placed them towards the center of the dowel. Then, I divided 60 strands of the beige into both sides of the dowel (30 strands on each side). I continued with the same double-knotting routine I did for the teal strands. Also, I divided 40 strands of white into both sides of the dowel (20 strands on each side). Likewise, I continued the same double-knotting routine I did for the teal and beige strands.

Finally, I cut the macrame into a symmetrical, V shape by simply placing a ruler at an angle and cut along the edges of the ruler with a scissor.

Ta-da! Here is the finished product:

Processed with VSCOcam with G3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with G3 preset

As a final touch, I added an arm-length strand of twine and tied each end to the dowel. The twine served to hang the macrame up. The macrame is hung up by a pin.

This week’s fiber art activity was cheap, easy, and fun. Unlike the other activities, I was glad my craft was actually kept and used as a room decor. Macrame wall hangers undoubtedly add an aesthetic touch to a home/room.

Leave a Reply

